LibGuides: Partner Colleges: Finding materials

FINDit

Electronic library services for students at Partner Colleges

Students based at partner institutions may access many of the University’s subscribed e-resources, where permissible under licensing agreements. We provide a wide range of electronic material including eJournals, eNewspapers and eDatabases; these resources can be used on and off-campus.

Use FINDit, our simple one-stop search to find the electronic resources that you need.

Staff at your own college will be the main source of support when using FINDit and e-resources, but we do have a range of FINDit guides to help (See: Guides & films).

eBook Collections

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
The 'Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders' is used to diagnose and classify mental disorders. DSM-5 Library contains 5th edition of the 'Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders', DSM-5 and DSM-5-TR. It also contains 'DSM-5 Clinical Cases', 'DSM-5 handbook of differential diagnosis', 'DSM-5 handbook on the cultural formulation interview' and 'Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5'.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An eBook collection covering a wide range of academic subjects, including arts and humanities, business, literature, social sciences, sciences, and technology. It includes the latest titles from the leading academic publishers and university presses.

ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed technical paper published by the Institution of Civil Engineers from 1836.
Includes full text access to Advances in Cement Research.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An ebook collection of over 180,000 titles including content across business; computing; economics; education; engineering; fine arts; history; law; literature; nursing; politics; psychology; religion; social sciences and more; from publishers such as CUP; Elsevier; Emerald; OUP; Springer; Taylor & Francis and Wiley.

VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is an eBook platform designed specifically for use in schools, colleges and universities. Log in using the Shibboleth link.

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering a wide range of academic disciplines. It provides full text for around 9,000 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,060 titles.
Date Range: 1975 – onward

Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The starting place for research on a range of management subject areas. Includes full-text access to journal articles, eBooks, case studies and archives.
Date range:1967 - onward

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database, which provides access to full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, working papers, and market reports. Covering subjects, including arts and humanities, business, education, health and medicine, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Search all databases at once, or select specific ones, for a more subject based search.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.
Date range 1975 - onwards

USW Library subscribes to over 180 different databases. A full list of databases can be found on the A-Z Database list. Use the All Subjects drop down menu to find subject specific lists of databases.

A-Z Database List

Newspapers

Search the archives of UK national and local newspapers:

Box of Broadcasts - BoB

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education that lets you record and view TV and radio online. View on campus or at home (UK only).

BoB is available to staff, students and researchers at member universities and colleges across the UK.

Key features:

Access 2.7 million broadcasts dating back to the 1990s
Record from over 75 free-to-air channels
A permanent archive of content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra
BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s
Create playlists, clips and clip compilations
Search programme transcripts and subtitles
Available on all devices

Partner Colleges