Referencing tools

Zotero is a free reference management tool available as desktop software and online, which you can set up to sync with your desktop version to access your library of references anywhere.  You can download Zotero on the download page of the Zotero website and there is also a Zotero Connector extension which allows you to save to Zotero directly from your web browser.

Access

To sign up for a free account, you need to register for an account at the Zotero website.  

• Click the Log In link on the top right of the screen. Click on the Register for free account and complete the information required.
• Download the software for your computer Zotero for Windows or macOS from the download page above. 
• Open the Zotero software go to Edit > Preferences > Sync. Login with your username and password and sync. For more information about syncing your references between desktop software and online, see the Syncing page.
• Download one of the browser connectors for Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari from Zotero Connector.

You can then sign-in to Zotero and start adding your references.

There is also an online version of Zotero which is available to you once you register. This can be synced with your desktop version so that you have access to your of references from anywhere. The online version of your library has cloud back up.

For more information on Zotero apps, see Zotero for Mobile.

There are four main ways to add references to your Zotero library:

1. Exporting / downloading - it is usually possible to save references in a suitable format that can be imported into Zotero. Use a 'RIS' export option which can be saved and uploaded into your Zotero library.
2. Creating a new reference using Zotero Connector - once this is installed Zotero can save references from most library catalogues, databases, and web pages and recognise that you are looking at a book or article in FINDit, in a database or on a page like Amazon. The icon changes to a book, document or PDF and clicking on it will save the reference into your library.
3. Creating a new reference - You can add a reference manually by clicking on the + (Add) button in the taskbar, choose a reference type from the drop-down menu, book, journal etc, and fill in the information in the item type form.
4. Adding references using ISBN, DOIs or PMIDs, arXiv IDs or ADS BibCodes to add to your library - You can search for references using the URL, ISBN or DOI. Click on the 'Identifier+' button (magic wand) and enter the identifier in the 'look up' box e.g. 9781352011593. Zotero will search for the reference and add it to your library. 

The My Library area contains the following:

• My Library - contains everything you have added to Zotero.
• Collections - is where all your collections you have created are located. Collections can be named to match an assignment or module name.  The same reference can belong to multiple collections. Items can be imported into a collection or moved later from My Library.
• Duplicate items - this stores duplicate items that may be introduced to your library as you gather your references. 
• My Publications - allows you to share your research.
• Unfiled items  - collected references will initially be stored in the Unfiled items area, until a collection is created and the references can then be moved.

For more help with Your Zotero Library, see Collections & tags, My Publications, Duplicate items. 

Zotero bibliographic styles support:

• American Psychological Association 7th edition - APA is the referencing style required for Psychology students. The USW guide is based on APA (6th edition).
• Cite Them Right 12th edition - Harvard - Harvard is the the main recommended referencing style at USW.
• Modern Humanities Research Association 3rd edition (note with bibliography) - MHRA is the referencing style required for History students. The USW guide is based on the MHRA Style Guide: A Handbook for Authors and Editors, 2013.
• OSCOLA (Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities) - OSCOLA is the referencing style required for Law students.  The USW guide is based on OSCOLA (4th edition).

These styles may or may not conform exactly to the USW guides for your referencing style, so please check and edit the reference when needed to comply.

For more help with bibliographies and citations, see creating bibliographies and citation styles.

If you want a quick reference without creating an account or installing any software, you can use Zotero Bib, which works in a similar way to the CITATION link function in FINDit (see Creating a reference in FINDit), by giving you a one-off reference. Enter the URL, ISBN, DOI, PMID, arXiv ID or title, in the search bar, choose from the 10,000+ styles and a reference is created that you can paste into a document.

If you want to share it with someone else, or save it for later, you can click on the Link to this version, which will create a link that you can use to access your references later or share with a project group.

If the reference you are looking for doesn't exist you can click Manual Entry and manually type in the reference details for ZoteroBib to format for 
you.

These styles may or may not conform exactly to the USW guides for your referencing style, so please check and edit the reference when needed to comply.