It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leading Digital Transformation: Finding articles & more
Journals (aka periodicals) are like magazines: they are subject-focussed publications that contain several articles written by different authors. Like magazines, they are published frequently over various time-periods - from weekly, monthly to yearly or bi-annually.
Academic journals are made up of scholarly or peer reviewed articles. They are written by researchers and must go through a vigorous peer review process before they can be accepted for publication. They are a major source of published research information. You can find academic articles with a good search strategy on FINDit or on our more subject specific databases. If you would like further support and guidance with this, contact your Faculty Librarian.
Below is a list of recommended databases. Scroll down further for a selection of recommended journals and websites.
Looking for a journal article
If you would like to find journal articles on a subject, try searching by keyword using Advanced Search in FINDit.
Full text for more than 3,800 scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications. Additional content includes case studies, market research reports, company records, industry reports, country economic reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, videos, books/monographs and conference proceedings.
NB: You need to download the File open plug in. On USW computers this is available through Uniapps. https://uniapps.southwales.ac.uk/login
British Standards Online is the most authoritative and up-to-date site for all publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes current, historic and draft British Standards. NB you must download a plugin to access the pdf versions of the standards.
Date range - 1919 - onwards
Select the 'Finding standards' tab to find out more about standards.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Contains Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
National Library of Medicine database, covering worldwide medical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. Indexes over 3,800 titles from 70 countries. Full text links where available.
Yn cynnwys erthyglau testun llawn, mynegeio a chrynodebau o gyhoeddiadau rhyngwladol, mae'r gronfa ddata hon yn adnodd cynhwysfawr sy'n cynnwys celf gain, addurniadol a masnachol, yn ogystal â ffotograffiaeth, celf werin, ffilm, pensaernïaeth a mwy.
A multi-disciplinary database, which provides access to full-text periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, working papers, and market reports. Covering subjects, including arts and humanities, business, education, health and medicine, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Search all databases at once, or select specific ones, for a more subject based search.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of Health Science, Life Science, Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Physical Science.
Provides access to over 300 UK newspapers including The Guardian, Financial Times, The Times, and The Telegraph, plus many regional newspapers, including the South Wales Echo and the Western Mail. You can also view magazines such as New Statesman, and The Spectator.
A key legal resource, updated daily, providing access to UK legislation (as amended) and case law and selected internatioanal materials. Provides access to legal encyclopaedias, commentaries and specialist practitioners’ publications, e.g. Halsbury’s Laws of England, Halsbury’s Statute Citator and the Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents. Includes several legal journals, e.g. Law Society Gazette and New Law Journal and a searchable archive of UK national and regional newspapers.
Alongside help from the Faculty Librarian, a LexisLibrary Student Associate can help with searching techniques.
A User Experience (UX) and consulting firm, providing guidance for leading world-wide organizations. They share their research findings to help designers and teams improve userexperiences. This website includes a free library of articles, research reports and UX conference information.