It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leading Digital Transformation: Develop your skills
The Change Management Podcast will give you exclusive access to USW’s thought leaders who are at the helm of supporting organisations to solve their business problems.
We’ll also feature special guests who will give honest reflections on their experiences of change, the impact it has had on themselves, their teams and their organisations.
The IDEO U Creative Confidence Podcast hosts candid conversations with some of today’s most inspiring change makers, design thinkers, and creative minds.
IDEO U Executive Design Director Coe Leta Stafford and Founder Suzanne Gibbs Howard speak with guests about their approach to leadership, creativity, innovation, and growth. Get insight into their success through personal stories and real-world examples, and learn how to bring a human-centered approach to your own work.
Unlock the world of Design Thinking as we explore its role and impact in society today on issues including climate change, transport, fashion and more. Learn from interviews and debates with some of the world's leading Design Thinkers.
Design Thinking 101 helps listeners learn about design-driven innovation, connect design thinking to strategy and action, and explore learning from challenges overcome while applying design thinking and related innovation approaches.
You'll hear design practitioners' stories, lessons, ideas, resources, and tips. Our guests share insights on how to deliver results with design thinking in business, social innovation, education, design, government, healthcare and other fields.
Explore what it takes to make design thinking work in the real world. We talk to design thinkers about the challenges of implementing Human Centred Design in Business, Government and Not-For-Profit organisations and how they work to overcome them.
Digital Health News is bringing you all the latest in digital and technology news within the NHS in its podcast, Digital Health Unplugged. Published fortnightly, the podcast features panel discussions from industry leaders and debriefings from the news team.
The complete toolkit includes a detailed audit covering 14 areas to help marketers and business leaders understand all they need to focus on. So listen in and learn how it works and how it can help you to transform your business and marketing in exciting ways.
Cutting edge research and interviews from industry leaders to help get you thinking about what kind of leader you want to be! Explore eight of the essential skills needed to be an effective leader in any walk of life.
he TED Audio Collective is a collection of podcasts for the curious. They're for listeners as excited by psychology and design as science and technology—who want to dig deep into today’s most exciting ideas.
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
The the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone.
This engaging guide by bestselling author Bryan Greetham takes students step-by-step through the process of writing a literature review, and equips them with practical strategies to help them navigate each stage. Each bite-sized chapter focuses on a specific aspect of the process, from generating ideas and pinning down the research problem through to searching for sources, citing references and planning, writing and editing the review. Chapters feature examples and exercises to help students apply ideas to their own work. Whether your students are writing a stand-alone review or one that is part of a dissertation or thesis, this guide is their essential companion.
This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study in any discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.
This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
The book breaks the process into manageable chunks and covers everything from preparation and planning through to conducting research and writing up the finished article. Packed with dozens of hands-on activities and quotes from real students, this book demystifies dissertations and project reports and helps ensure that the process is an enjoyable and rewarding experience. This is an invaluable resource for students of all levels embarking on a dissertation, project report or other piece of extended writing. Its interdisciplinary approach means it is the ideal companion for students of all disciplines.
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job.
Online Tools for collaboration and project management
THIS handout looks at the key points involved in putting together an academic
presentation. It highlights stylistic and structural requirements, the act of presenting and offers advice to improve individual performance.
USW Harvard Referencing - the style recommended for the majority of courses at USW.
The exceptions are:
USW APA referencing - referencing style required for Psychology students.
USW MHRA referencing - referencing style required for History students.
USW Numeric referencing - referencing style required for Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Science and Forensic Science students.
USW OSCOLA referencing - referencing style required for Law students.
If you would like a more comprehensive guide to referencing, the eBook below will help with all the styles listed above.
You can also make an appointment with a study skills tutor.
Cite them right : the essential referencing guide. 12th ed by Richard Pears and Graham ShieldsThe the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. The fully revised and updated 12th edition contains: Expanded guidance on the key principles of referencing and avoiding plagiarism, including new sections on collecting evidence to use in your work; reading, listening and taking notes; and using other people's work in your writing. New reference examples for Tik Tok, blog posts, Zoom and Teams, recorded lectures and online seminars.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Literature Review Guide
This guide is an introduction to the Literature Review process - including its purpose and strategies, guidelines, and resources to get you started.